What to do when a thread is closed due to misunderstanding

PegMan

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Various
My Location
England
Hi,
What do i do if there has been a misunderstanding of my thread (i hope).
My very first thread was closed down and i can't see any way to communicate with an Admin.

I asked if i could scan more than 2 channels from my French TV card.
Maybe i should have said i paid for the card? Or it was a valid domestic subscription?
My box has multiple tuners (more than 2 of course) and i simply wanted to know if there are known rules to scan a specific number of channels/transponders, etc from a domestic card.

Perhaps someone can explain this to Topper and pass on my apologies. I still don't see how this question breaks the rules, surely its feasible that someone can have more than two tuners and wonder if the card allowed it?
Anyway, regardless, i apologise for breaking any rules. The response from Topper was to the point, forthright and made sure there was no confusion over my post. I'm sure it was justified and wording 100% correct. Thank you
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,996
Reaction score
4,019
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Well, I am sorry if you feel you have been hard done by but if as you claim you wish to legally decode more than two channels using one card I recommend you take the issue up with the provider of the specific subscription/card/channels. AFAIK they only allow for decoding of two channels per subscription (but recommend you check their subscription small print) and I can easily understand their logic behind such a restriction. If for some reason you think you deserve a special dispensation on the matter take it up with the specific provider as we are not able to help you for reasons I have already stated. You obviously are not new to the hobby and quite frankly it seems strange that you would wait over a month to come and complain about my actions from one month ago.
 

PegMan

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Various
My Location
England
Hi, not complaining just need a 'right to reply' after the very frank accusation.
I waited a month because after your response i started looking elsewhere and thought maybe here was not the place to ask questions. Honestly, i didn't feel very welcome so i thought 'sod you'.

Anyway...
From other helpful conversations i found that BIS might allow 3 channels (the standard two plus an extra in case of issues). No idea on TNT Sat, but i would rather pay less for a longer subscription so maybe i just test with it. Now i know a little more, not sure why i went the BIS or Fransat route.

Topper, you are admin and i am a guest so honestly its fine. No ill felling or malice, just asked what i thought was a reasonable question.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,698
Reaction score
8,609
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I notice a similar question on the same day was removed by Micka.

Perhaps if you mentioned what equipment you are, or might be considering to use for dual reception (and why ) this would clear things up. Your profile mentions England as a location, where was the card sourced and was it supplied with the receiving equipment ?
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,996
Reaction score
4,019
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Hi, not complaining just need a 'right to reply' after the very frank accusation.
I waited a month because after your response i started looking elsewhere and thought maybe here was not the place to ask questions. Honestly, i didn't feel very welcome so i thought 'sod you'.
Everyone including yourself if welcome here, it is however normal to introduce yourself here before jumping in and making your first post about sensitive technical issues, with considerable ambiguity and little or no information provided. As a forum, we have to attempt to appease satellite broadcast companies and corporations to avoid expensive court cases and ultimate closure. This has been our policy since the good old days and no doubt will continue to be so. If I have misunderstood your intentions then I apologize however, I still consider my response and actions more than justified under the circumstances.
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,270
Reaction score
1,169
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
If you want to be able to receive multiple of the main French channels at the same time, you'd be better using the free to air multistreams on 5°W rather than Fransat, TNTSat or BIS, especially if you're in the Southern half of England where the signal is nice and strong.

Plenty of receivers support it these days, and you've no cards with decryption limits to worry about as the channels are all in the clear.
 
Top