Adding a dish motor to HUmax / quattro LNB / 5/8 Multiswitch setup

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
I want to add a dish motor to my above setup. At present it is focussed on Astra 28.2, and I need to access Astra 19.2. The Motors I have seen all require an LNB feed from the system, but how do I achieve this? I have setup many systems, and have a digital dish setup meter.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,515
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Hi dagbaruch and welcome to the forum, there are many threads available explaining how to setup a motorised system, start here

 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,096
Reaction score
622
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
Do you need 19.2E to be available on all outputs of the switch? If so a new switch may be needed. What is the model # of your current switch?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,355
Reaction score
8,116
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Exactly which Humax box do you have?
 

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
Yes, all outputs to have both satellites signals available; that is why I wish to motorise the dish. The Multiswitch is a GLOBO PMS-5x8. The main reason for the motor is to find a satellite which broadcasts the MotoGP for 2021, as Quest on Freesat does not seem to have this for this year.
 

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
The Humax box is a Foxsat HDR with a 1 Gb drive fed with 2 sat inputs from the above multiswitch
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,355
Reaction score
8,116
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Last edited:

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,096
Reaction score
622
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
If you just want 19.2E you don't need to motorise the dish, you can add a second LNB to the existing dish. You'd then need a multiswitch with 9 inputs (2x satellite + terrestrial).
 

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
It would be cheaper to buy a motor, than use another dish and LNB. I live in Lower Normandy, France, and use an 80cm dish, If I add another lnb, plus brackertry and possibly a larger dish, this is getting more expensive.
 

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
I have looked through the forums, and so far have not found what you suggest.

And there are many other relevant Threads within that same Freesat sub-Forum.
 

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
the following:-

Secret menu on Humax Freesat box. For DiSEqC & USALS​

does not work. I assume that I would have to start tuning from scratch
 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,096
Reaction score
622
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
It would be cheaper to buy a motor, than use another dish and LNB. I live in Lower Normandy, France, and use an 80cm dish, If I add another lnb, plus brackertry and possibly a larger dish, this is getting more expensive.
You don't need a larger or second dish. You can add a simple bracket to the existing dish in order to mount the 19.2E LNB.

If using a motor you may also need new mounting brackets to ensure the pole is plumb. I don't think your switch would pass the DiSEqC signal + power needed to move the motor.

You would also have to use your Humax in non-Freesat mode, you will lose the 28.2E 7-day EPG.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
804
Reaction score
398
Points
63
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
The Motors I have seen all require an LNB feed from the system, but how do I achieve this?

Welcome to the forum, dagbaruch!
So the question is about the combination of motor and multiswitch?

There are two possible setups for your cabling: serial, or parallel.

Serial would be: motor between the motor-controling receiver and the multiswitch. This usually means 2 extra cables (back and forth) between multiswitch and dish setup. (Impedance-wise a clean setup.)

Parallel would be: a splitter/tap between the motor-controling receiver and the multiswitch. The main input of the splitter to the MS, the tap-'input' to the motor. So only one extra cable needed to the motor (second connection on the motor can stay open, or a DC-blocking terminating resistor at it).
Special care is needed to choose the splitter/tap. A UniTap by Spaun would be a good tap, the best solution I would say. I myself use a simple splitter for a setup like this, but it should have power pass in both directions, or at least in the right direction (but these are rare!). A simple T-piece is also possible, but impedance-wise not a good solution.

All this assumes only one receiver having motor-control.
When you want two receivers having motor control (but not at the same time, of course), that is only possible (AFAIK) in the parallel way, and you'd need an extra tap/splitter, and a satellite (smart) priority switch.

Does this make things clearer?

Greetz,
A33

Edit. I assume you realize that when your motor/dish is aimed at the one satellite, the other satellite cannot be received....
 
Last edited:

dagbaruch

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Humax box, 5/8 Multiswitch, Quattro LNB. I want to motorise the dish, but cannot find connection instructions
My Location
Normandy, France
OK, so motorising the dish is not going to work.

I'll have to cost up another quattro LNB, bracketry, and a 9/8 multiswitch to achieve both Astra satellites.

If only Quest TV had MotoGP again this year. So far we have managed, but as BT now has the main rights, or Canal+ here in France, it will be difficult which ever solution I choose.

Thank you all for assistance. I will now close this post.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,467
Reaction score
3,574
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
That's not the link that Lazarus posted. This is:

 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,096
Reaction score
622
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
Some multiswitches allow the use of cheaper quad LNBs. If you are only supplying two receivers (with no terrestrial) you may not need a multiswich at all. Two quad LNBs and four cheap DiSEqC 1.0 switches should work.

edit: I'm not sure if DiSEqC on Humax boxes is sent to both inputs in non-freesat mode.
 
Last edited:

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
804
Reaction score
398
Points
63
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
OK, so motorising the dish is not going to work.

Huh?
I described how it can be done.

It might not be the solution for what you want, but motorizing a dish in a multiswitch setup is not really a problem.

So what is the reason that it "is not going to work" for you?

A33.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
804
Reaction score
398
Points
63
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL

But this one is:

Greetz,
A33
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Several ways of getting another sat to all rooms, motorising is possibly going to cause conflicts when different viewers require different satellites at the same time. May be better to obtain a 9 in 8 out multiswitch and offset a secondary quattro LNB. If you only require Astra 19.2 in a couple of locations, then a quad LNB offset for 19.2 and a 2 way DiSEqC switch on each required feed.
 
Top