Bargain Second-Hand Big Dishes For Sale

s-band

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
1,829
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Octagon OSLO external Ref., TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El (being refurbished)
My Location
Essex
Can you cover Rx kit needs with the selling of the Tx or is this a venture into the unknown ?
3.5k is a highish but reasonable price for that lot. However, I'd check the Satsio firmware in both indoor & outdoor units to make sure it will do what you want or you can upgrade it. There are some limitations and I'm not sure how much support dB can give and at what cost.
One problem, that's actually reasonably easy to get around, is that the indoor unit defaults to look for S3satcom servers for NORAD data. There's also the risk that when the NORAD ID numbers exceed 99999 it might not work fully. Although from 2020, see the answer here
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
3.5k is a highish but reasonable price for that lot. However, I'd check the Satsio firmware in both indoor & outdoor units to make sure it will do what you want or you can upgrade it. There are some limitations and I'm not sure how much support dB can give and at what cost.
One problem, that's actually reasonably easy to get around, is that the indoor unit defaults to look for S3satcom servers for NORAD data. There's also the risk that when the NORAD ID numbers exceed 99999 it might not work fully. Although from 2020, see the answer here
I think you are giving more consideration than it requires on a single optic 2.4m antenna.
 

moonbase

Small Dish Man
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
4,369
Reaction score
4,470
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
UK
@moonbase answered my BW question: the OMT has enough BW for RX on the straight through port.


When testing the Rx/Tx OMT as a dual polarity Rx OMT both ports received OK. However, the maximum signal level was via the straight through port.
Both polarities were tested on both ports and both H and V gave stronger dB levels on the straight through port compared to the elbow bend port.

Tests were carried out on 160.0E in the 12500 - 12750 MHz frequency range.
If I recall correctly there was about 2dB difference in signal level at approximately 12.5dB vs 14.5dB for elbow vs straight through respectively using a Prodelin 1244 reflector.
 

Joolz

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
124
Points
33
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
1.2M CM on Motor + 1.8M PF TBS5927 + 5980 and lots of poorly positioned trees!
1m Astro 55°E - 63°W
My Location
South Yorkshire
1.2m FIBO with spares.

 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,165
Reaction score
3,795
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
1.2m FIBO with spares.

Wow, just down the road..
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Ooh... I could do with a motor and some cogs or two. Have sent him a message to see if he would part with some spares.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
3.5k is a highish but reasonable price for that lot. However, I'd check the Satsio firmware in both indoor & outdoor units to make sure it will do what you want or you can upgrade it. There are some limitations and I'm not sure how much support dB can give and at what cost.
One problem, that's actually reasonably easy to get around, is that the indoor unit defaults to look for S3satcom servers for NORAD data. There's also the risk that when the NORAD ID numbers exceed 99999 it might not work fully. Although from 2020, see the answer here
And relisted.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset

moonbase

Small Dish Man
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
4,369
Reaction score
4,470
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
UK
I just noticed that it's in 4 pieces/petals. I always thought the 2.4m CMs were sawn in half...

I think it is a Prodelin 1244 reflector, thay are 4 petal.
For the equipment present, it is ridiculously low price, unbelievable.

Tempted to buy it just to store it for future needs.
 

John

Enthusiast.
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
3,716
Reaction score
5,511
Points
113
Location
North Nottinghamshire.
My Satellite Setup
Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
Promax FSM.
My Location
North Nottinghamshire.
I think it is a Prodelin 1244 reflector, thay are 4 petal.
For the equipment present, it is ridiculously low price, unbelievable.

Tempted to buy it just to store it for future needs.

Go on, go on
 

Beli1910

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2023
Messages
196
Reaction score
157
Points
43
Age
44
Location
Sevnica-Slovenija
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 150 with diqec motor 90E -30W
Wave frontier t90 45E-5W
Triax 110-,motor
Laminas 1.8m and Laminas 120
Chanel master 125
Gibertini 150 fix
Gibertini 125
Etc....
My Location
Sevnica 8290-Slovenija
It's a shame that all these good plates are in England. Otherwise, I would have bought them immediately - it's a bit more difficult to get used top plates here.
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I would have snapped it up if I was:

a) Single
b) Had room
c) Had planning permission
d) Didn't have arsey neighbours
 

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
2,372
Reaction score
1,111
Points
113
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,061
Reaction score
1,129
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
I probably would have bid on it 5 years ago, Seeing my dishes used less and less these days sadly.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Well someone's paying 800 at least now or they're a time waster of course
One would have thought the bidding system on Ebay has weeded the usual suspects out.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
2,372
Reaction score
1,111
Points
113
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK
as soon as someone bids, BIN goes away - hence my comment, someone is deffo paying 800 now
 
Top