How To Setup A Linux PC Card Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

yesfan

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
SS2, SS2 HD, DM800, Titanium LNB, Triax TD88, TM2600 motor, SkyHD multiroom
My Location
UK
sudo gives you permissions to edit/create files and other options when not logged in as root.

These are the default paths where cccam and newcs live and look for configs:

/var/bin/newcs_167
/etc/newcs.xml

/var/bin/CCcam.x86
/var/etc/CCcam.cfg

You will need to create some of these directories. You shouldnt need to use sudo to execute cccam or newcs using these paths.
 

satfreakholl

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
dm800
My Location
nl
new smartcard_list.txt

put in

/usr/share/pcsc
 

Attachments

  • smartcard_list.txt
    84 KB · Views: 345

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
bob808 said:
... but I get errors running cccam unless I run as sudo still - think this is a permissions issue...
Code:
sudo chmod 755 /path/to/cccam
The above should cure any problems with execute permissions.
 

yesfan

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
SS2, SS2 HD, DM800, Titanium LNB, Triax TD88, TM2600 motor, SkyHD multiroom
My Location
UK
Anyone got a timed reboot script for an ubuntu server they would like to share?
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
yesfan said:
Anyone got a timed reboot script for an ubuntu server they would like to share?
Just add the following to a cron job scheduled to run at whatever time you want.

Code:
/sbin/shutdown -r now
 

yesfan

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
SS2, SS2 HD, DM800, Titanium LNB, Triax TD88, TM2600 motor, SkyHD multiroom
My Location
UK
Should I create a new cron job for this task? And what would be the best way to to it? Still a linux noob!
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
Its just a case of adding a line to '/etc/crontab' .

Adding the following would reboot your server every day at 5:30am.

Code:
30 05 * * * /sbin/shutdown -r now

This works fine for me while logged in as root.

You may find that it wont work under whatever username you are logged in as. I haven't tested this.

In that case, one way around it would be to run the following from the command line.

Code:
sudo echo "30 05 * * * /sbin/shutdown -r now" >> /etc/crontab

Make sure you enter both redirection symbols here (>>). Otherwise you'll end up overwriting the crontab file instead of appending a line to it.
 

satfreakholl

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
dm800
My Location
nl
or install webmim
webmin.com

with webmin you can control your linix server
also make cron jobs wiht a mouse klik
and many more
you will see :)








compufunk said:
Its just a case of adding a line to '/etc/crontab' .

Adding the following would reboot your server every day at 5:30am.

Code:
30 05 * * * /sbin/shutdown -r now

This works fine for me while logged in as root.

You may find that it wont work under whatever username you are logged in as. I haven't tested this.

In that case, one way around it would be to run the following from the command line.

Code:
sudo echo "30 05 * * * /sbin/shutdown -r now" >> /etc/crontab

Make sure you enter both redirection symbols here (>>). Otherwise you'll end up overwriting the crontab file instead of appending a line to it.
 

yesfan

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
SS2, SS2 HD, DM800, Titanium LNB, Triax TD88, TM2600 motor, SkyHD multiroom
My Location
UK
Thx for the link, its a great tool! Cant seem to get the ssh access to work though, have got java, its appears to login ok but just displays a black screen with no prompt? Will have to play around with the settings...... or just stick to putty. Cheers
 

Oakey22

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
131
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Penta 85cm, Quad LND, DM8000,Nabilosat Blackhole v11.
My Location
Staffordshire
whats the reason for rebooting everyday?
 

yesfan

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
SS2, SS2 HD, DM800, Titanium LNB, Triax TD88, TM2600 motor, SkyHD multiroom
My Location
UK
I run a script at 3am to update CCcam.cfg with one I have adjusted (added peers to etc) rather than doing it on the fly and causing freezing everytime I make a change and save it. It also does some backups and system updates and it reboots when its all done just to make sure everything is running smoothly. It never used to, I read a few posts that recommended doing it and then got the above advice to create a cron.
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
satfreakholl said:
or install webmim
webmin.com

with webmin you can control your linix server
also make cron jobs wiht a mouse klik
and many more
you will see :)
Yes, I agree. Webmin is a great tool. I use it all the time. Probably more than any other application on the systems I maintain.

The reason I didn't mention it was because I just didnt want to further complicate things by suggesting installing yet another package. Just for the sake of doing something as simple as setting up a cron job.
 

woodseaves

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000HD S, Dreambox 7025i, Fibo 1.2 fixed on 7W, 90cm Motorised System.
My Location
Hereford
satfreakholl said:
new smartcard_list.txt

put in

/usr/share/pcsc

hi, I am trying to achieve this using filezilla but being new I can't. How do I give myself permission using filezilla? or what is the script to transfer it from the desktop?

regards
 

shumifan50

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
521
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
My Location
Europe
Just some info on my experience with Ubuntu Desktop 8.04 - I know it is not the latest version, but it is the latest released version. It runs on an Intel D945GCLF2 Atom 330 based motherboard (1.6GHz 2GB ram).

I found it to be unstable at times. Some devices got excellent times and some could not connect. Browsed around and found several threads that quote IP6 causing problems. I disabled IP6 and all the problems went away. All devices stable and fast.:)

So if you get 'funny' behaviour, try disabling IPv6.
 

satfreakholl

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
dm800
My Location
nl
hi
i use always winscp



_http://winscp.net/eng/download.php









woodseaves said:
hi, I am trying to achieve this using filezilla but being new I can't. How do I give myself permission using filezilla? or what is the script to transfer it from the desktop?

regards
 

woodseaves

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000HD S, Dreambox 7025i, Fibo 1.2 fixed on 7W, 90cm Motorised System.
My Location
Hereford
shumifan50 said:
Just some info on my experience with Ubuntu Desktop 8.04 - I know it is not the latest version, but it is the latest released version. It runs on an Intel D945GCLF2 Atom 330 based motherboard (1.6GHz 2GB ram).

I found it to be unstable at times. Some devices got excellent times and some could not connect. Browsed around and found several threads that quote IP6 causing problems. I disabled IP6 and all the problems went away. All devices stable and fast.:)

So if you get 'funny' behaviour, try disabling IPv6.

Sounds good, how do I disable IPv6 in ubuntu?
 

shumifan50

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
521
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
My Location
Europe
Straight from Ubuntu documentation:

  1. IPv6 is supported by default in Ubuntu and can sometimes cause problems.
  2. To disable it, open a Terminal (Applications → Accessories → Terminal) and type the command: gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.
  3. Find the line "alias net-pf-10 ipv6" and change it to read "alias net-pf-10 off".
  4. Reboot Ubuntu.
 

woodseaves

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000HD S, Dreambox 7025i, Fibo 1.2 fixed on 7W, 90cm Motorised System.
My Location
Hereford
shumifan50 said:
Straight from Ubuntu documentation:

  1. IPv6 is supported by default in Ubuntu and can sometimes cause problems.
  2. To disable it, open a Terminal (Applications → Accessories → Terminal) and type the command: gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.
  3. Find the line "alias net-pf-10 ipv6" and change it to read "alias net-pf-10 off".
  4. Reboot Ubuntu.

well I did as instructed, the file aliases had nothing in it, so I typed the replacement line, saved the file and re-booted. Sorry but no change, I still can't save any other files.
 

satfreakholl

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
dm800
My Location
nl
today i did some test with the
Cherry ST1044U usb reader
i sel this on ebay
i order a Omnikey 3121 USB card reader but thy send a Cherry ST1044U [mistake ]
i not test with the sky card yet
but this Cherry ST1044U work vary nice with the new seca3 card from holland
also tested with a rus rtvi card


sorry for my sad english
======================================================================

Fri Oct 30 14:47:49 2009
Reader 0: Cherry ST1044U 00 00
Card state: Card inserted,
ATR: 3B F7 11 00 01 40 96 70 xx xx

ATR: 3B F7 11 00 01 40 96 70 70 xx xx
+ TS = 3B --> Direct Convention
+ T0 = F7, Y(1): 1111, K: 7 (historical bytes)
TA(1) = 11 --> Fi=372, Di=1, 372 cycles/ETU
10752 bits/s at 4 MHz, fMax for Fi = 5 MHz => 13440 bits/s
TB(1) = 00 --> VPP is not electrically connected
TC(1) = 01 --> Extra guard time: 1
TD(1) = 40 --> Y(i+1) = 0100, Protocol T = 0
-----
TC(2) = 96 --> Work waiting time: 960 x 150 x (Fi/F)
+ Historical bytes: 70 70 0A xx xx
Category indicator byte: 70 (proprietary format)


=======================================================================


[ 14:48:15 ] [ Loader ] Starting Telnet on port 5000
[ 14:48:15 ] [ Loader ] Reader type 9 on node 0
[ 14:48:15 ] [ PC/SC ] Device 0: Cherry ST1044U 00 00
[ 14:48:15 ] [ PC/SC ] Opening device Cherry ST1044U 00 00
[ 14:48:15 ] [ PC/SC ] Device 0: Cherry ST1044U 00 00
[ 14:48:15 ] [ PC/SC ] Opening device Cherry ST1044U 00 00
[ 14:48:15 ] [ ATR ] T=0 1etu=104.17us Guardtime:13etu WWT:144000etu
[ 14:48:15 ] [ ATR ] Historical bytes: p p [xx] [xx] l [xx] [xx]
[ 14:48:15 ] [ Loader ] Init Seca card
 

woodseaves

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000HD S, Dreambox 7025i, Fibo 1.2 fixed on 7W, 90cm Motorised System.
My Location
Hereford
Hi,
Now that I have the card recognised what is a typical setup of newcs.xml and cccam.cfg. Not what goes in them particulsarly but where should they be placed. If I understand the principle of a server is to do away with any setup except maybe cccam.cfg or even newcs.xml (see how confused I am) on the dm. Can anyone give me guidance where they should be located?

Regards
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top