LNB , how to know is dead?

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Can't you have a word, with the owners, and ask them to trim the trees down?
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
1,223
Reaction score
705
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
Those are the dish position in my side wall.

It looks like at one of the pictures, the dish is in full sun. If that is the case, you can see (a part of) the clarke belt.

Why don't you do the sun test (even when it is past sun outage days), to check?
No need to jump to conclusions about trees, based on guesses, I would say.

I've done more suggestions in this thread, that weren't properly followed, I believe. So alas, I might step out....

greetz,
A33
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
It looks like at one of the pictures, the dish is in full sun. If that is the case, you can see (a part of) the clarke belt.

Why don't you do the sun test (even when it is past sun outage days), to check?
No need to jump to conclusions about trees, based on guesses, I would say.

I've done more suggestions in this thread, that weren't properly followed, I believe. So alas, I might step out....

greetz,
A33
I will do it tomorrow as the weather nwill be better over here. Thanks
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Your are just a few days after sun outage, for your location. Presently the sun is about 2 degrees below the clarke belt.

So: is your dish still in the sun, with no (or hardly any) shadow at the bottom of the dish, during the day?
If there is no shadow, you're OK. If there is, at various times, shadow, then it indicates that at that time the satellite at the sun longitude is shadowed...

Greetz,
A33
IMG_20231105_123916988.jpgAs you can see there was some shadow from the tree early in the morning ( summer is more shadow) so after 13.00 no shadow at this moment of year. IMG_20231105_104546373.jpg
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Does that window to the right (looking at the dish face) allow reasonable access to the motor nuts and bolts ?

If so you could dismantle the system whilst up there and - carefully - remove the old pole and replace with a taller piece of scaffold pole.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
1,223
Reaction score
705
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
As you can see there was some shadow from the tree early in the morning ( summer is more shadow) so after 13.00 no shadow at this moment of year.

The sun was about 8 degrees lower than the clarkebelt today for your location (Lat and Lon from post #81 or #94).

The trees are about 17 meters away (post #126), so that means the trees' shadow must not have been higher than about 2.35 meter above the bottom of the dish, to still have reception of the clarke belt.

I'm not sure, from your description, that the Clarke belt was fully visible? Or that the easterly part may have been partly blocked?

You were there, you must be the judge of that.


Assuming a clear line of sight, I'd do the checks on the proper setup of the motor angles (#108), and follow up with further checks after that....

Greetz,
A33
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
The sun was about 8 degrees lower than the clarkebelt today for your location (Lat and Lon from post #81 or #94).

The trees are about 17 meters away (post #126), so that means the trees' shadow must not have been higher than about 2.35 meter above the bottom of the dish, to still have reception of the clarke belt.

I'm not sure, from your description, that the Clarke belt was fully visible? Or that the easterly part may have been partly blocked?

You were there, you must be the judge of that.


Assuming a clear line of sight, I'd do the checks on the proper setup of the motor angles (#108), and follow up with further checks after that....

Greetz,
A33
Good morning, I see that in summer the tree is its growing path with a lot of leaves blocking the Easterly side as you can see #138 post.
I assume that 2.35 m is just right at moment.
I can see that as the tree is loosing leaves ,the signals are getting stronger particularly in 19.2 and 13.0e but no success at any West satellites even though I have no blockage in front.
Thanks
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
0.8W is not as strong as 13E, 19.2E, or 28.2E, but you should get a lock, if everything is set up correctly, and as it's near your True South, your Longitude reading, then 0.8W is higher, in the sky, so less chance of obstructions, than further East, and West.
Which transponder, are you using, to try to find 0.8W?
Have you tried the satellite finder option?
Have you tried connecting your satellite meter?
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
0.8W is not as strong as 13E, 19.2E, or 28.2E, but you should get a lock, if everything is set up correctly, and as it's near your True South, your Longitude reading, then 0.8W is higher, in the sky, so less chance of obstructions, than further East, and West.
Which transponder, are you using, to try to find 0.8W?
Have you tried the satellite finder option?
Have you tried connecting your satellite meter?
Yes , I used the meter and didn't have any signals on the west part. I was looking for the 30W Hispasat as there are some Brazilians channels as some Spanish and also was thinking to get a TDT receiver when the prices goes down.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
You have to get a signal, with the meter, as even if the dish is pointing at the floor, you would still get a signal, as the meter is turned down, to it's lowest point.
You then turn the knob, until the meter reads 5, then adjust the dish, until the meter goes to 10, adjust the knob, again, to get 5, then continue, until you have the strongest signal possible, then you do a blind scan, and see if you get any channels, so that you can work out whish satellite you're on.
Of course dishpointer.com, provides a reasonable idea, of where to point the dish.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
1,223
Reaction score
705
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
Good morning, I see that in summer the tree is its growing path with a lot of leaves blocking the Easterly side as you can see #138 post.
I assume that 2.35 m is just right at moment.
I can see that as the tree is loosing leaves ,the signals are getting stronger particularly in 19.2 and 13.0e but no success at any West satellites even though I have no blockage in front.

So, when you are able to see at what time of day the shadows at about 2m above the dish bottom end, you can determine at what satellite position that is. (You are at UTC zone now, in wintertime UK?)

Apart from that, I would check your motor setup if I were you. Starting with these questions:

If you ask me, I'd check and ask you these questions (and more!):
1. Pole exactly vertical, in east/west direction? (Also in north/south direction? That is not really needed, but it is practical!)
2. Motor elevation then set at proper elevation/latitude angle? Measured on elevation scale of the motor, or with inclinometer (=better)?
3. Motor goes to exactly zero, when you give the Goto-Zero/Goto-Reference command?
4. Dish is mounted exactly in line, with the motor, then (while on Zero)?
5. Arm/LNB is mounted exactly in line, with (motor and) dish, then?
6. Dish elevation scale then set at proper value?

Greetz,
A33
 
Top