LNB , how to know is dead?

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Dear all, a couple a month ago I lost signals so I changed my receiver as it was time to update.
I chose an Octogon. I know , I 'm still learning as it a such complicated machine but I 'm a persistent and resilience person and open to learn new things.
Anyway, I managed to set, with some help of you but now somehow, I cannot get any signals when I do scan, blindscan or find a satellite. I can move the dish east to west and calibrate, etc... using usuals, goto, but when they go to the satellite position nothing appears.
Last Saturday, I went up with my analigo satellite finder and could not receive any thing either.
Therefore, I think my LNB is dead.
Anything can I do differently?
Many thanks.
1. Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
2. Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
3. LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Octogon 8008
5. WF 100 cable ( 22 metres from dish to receiver)
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Have a look at the short cable section running from the motor to the LNB - constant panning of the dish can lead to the connector at the motor end eventually coming loose. That means the LNB receives neither power nor DiSEqC signals, so appears dead. The fact that you meter also fails to respond lends weight to this diagnosis ...,,

Remove, inspect, remake the connection if it has parted from the F plug and securely screw it back onto the motor. A couple of judiciously placed cable ties will prevent a recurrence
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Use the main cable and plug the LNB directly to the receiver. Your dish should already be pointing a satellite.

The SF8008 is not a difficult receiver, the enigma firmware is quite a sod though.
 

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
2,372
Reaction score
1,111
Points
113
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK
also if you had access to a sat meter with spectrum analyser, it would tell you (and show nothing) - but these aren't cheap
 

John

Enthusiast.
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
3,716
Reaction score
5,511
Points
113
Location
North Nottinghamshire.
My Satellite Setup
Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
Promax FSM.
My Location
North Nottinghamshire.
If you have a DVB card run an RF specrtrum with CrazyScan or EBSPro RF scan.

Uncanny - just done a lnb to sky pointing showing the very same thing on an Inverto HOME Pro Single Universal for evaluation
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

INVERTO HomePro Bench scan.JPG
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Guys thanks a lot for the advices.
I will have to go again tomorrow up and disconnect and connect again but I will connect first directly from the receiver...if doesn't work, will change the cable from the motor to LNB. Let's hope it will work either way.
Have a good evening. ☮️
 

ALPER ULUDAG

Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2023
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
76
My Satellite Setup
1.5 m offset metal dish, unbranded, mounted on ChannelMaster polar mount, with 18 in actuator arm. Spans from 63E to 31W.
My Location
Nicosia, Cyprus.
I have always wondered why noone has yet come up with a better connector than F-type.. 90% of faults I have seen have come from that..So check and replace better the connectors in yr system.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
I have always wondered why noone has yet come up with a better connector than F-type.. 90% of faults I have seen have come from that..So check and replace better the connectors in yr system.
There are many varieties of the F connectors - some are good, others are not! And there are certainly "better" connectors in terms of performance. The "difference", if there is one, is that:
a) The "decent " versions are simple to install (if done correctly!) and deliver "adequate" to "very good" performance, but don't cost much - and certainly a lot less than many "better" performing connector designs!
b) The F connector system already has a huge "user-base" and only a tiny proportion of those actually report having "problems" that can be attributed specifically to those connectors - and those are almost always actually due to poor installation or lack of adequate maintainance in the long term.

OTOH, if you really don't like the design, then please point to another desi.gn that does as well - but doesn't (as we say in the UK) "cost an arm and a leg" ( i.e. a LOT of money!)
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Dear members, just an update of my journey to make my Octagon 8008 works.
Here is a summarise:
I tried everything that you guys told suggested to to.
This time , the receiver, could not send power to the motor, I don't know why.
I tried to put the satellite finder and it didn't have power either but when I tried to scan a satellite to see if the light of the motor was flashing, but it wasn't so I just in case again put the analogue ST and the flash a light so when stop the scan , again it didn't have power .
In the end I got frustrated and did a silly mistake of doing a factory reset and now I can not even find a English language in the system... completely lost....
Anyway if anybody could advise what I need to do would be great.
Have a good night.
Many thanks ☮️
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
What make/model satellite meter do you have?
Which image, name, and version, are you trying to load on your receiver?
I use OpenBh 5.3, on my old VU+ Duo 2, but most Enigma 2 menus are the same.

There is a lot you can do, with your receiver, even without your satellite dish, to test it's working.
If you do a few basic Google searches, e.g. Octagon 8008 setup guide, how to flash an Octagon SF8008, etc.. You will find a lot of useful videos.

Please post back with any questions, or updates.
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
What make/model satellite meter do you have?
Which image, name, and version, are you trying to load on your receiver?
I use OpenBh 5.3, on my old VU+ Duo 2, but most Enigma 2 menus are the same.

There is a lot you can do, with your receiver, even without your satellite dish, to test it's working.
If you do a few basic Google searches, e.g. Octagon 8008 setup guide, how to flash an Octagon SF8008, etc.. You will find a lot of useful videos.

Please post back with any questions, or updates.
Good evening Mickha, thanks for your advice.
I just wonder how can I go back ( I don't know any German so because I did a factory reset , I cannot find in settings to put again in English.
Also, I found the openBh5.3 so I tried to do it but probably I need to download in a usb stick and transfer to the receiver. Is that correct?
Anyway, my man task is to find my way back to the start point and set up all over again. Language options etc..
Many thanks .
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
1,223
Reaction score
705
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
Anyway, my man task is to find my way back to the start point and set up all over again. Language options etc..

Which menu options are in the (german) starting menu?
Also one called "Einstellungen"?
I guess it could be there: "Sprache".

Greetz,
A33
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
You download an image, designed for your make/model receiver, uncompress it, with winzip, winrar, or 7 zip.
You should now have a folder called vuplus.
Format a USB stick, using the FAT32 option, on your PC, then load the vuplus folder onto it.
You then turn off your receiver, insert the USB stick, into a USB port, make sure you remove anything else, attached by USB.
Then follow this video, ignore the German audio:
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Found a quick guide, for flashing into your receivers flash memory:
Flashing the Receiver
1. Power off the receiver using the back on/off switch.
2. Ensure no other USB devices are plugged in to the receiver.
3. Insert the USB stick containing the image in to the rear USB port.
4. Hold down the front Standby button, then Power the receiver on using the back on/off switch. Release the front button when ‘updt’ appears on front display of the receiver.
5. Wait for the recovery menu to appear on TV, then select ‘Recovery from USB’ and press OK on your remote.
6. You will see the progress on your TV screen and if successful the reveiver will reboot itself after the flashing process has completed.
7. Remove USB stick that contains the images files.
The flashing process should take approximately two to four minutes to complete. While the receiver is being flashed, it is important that you DO NOT power the receiver down for any reason as this can cause serious and/or permanent damage.
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Hello just an update. As don't have time during the day, I try to see again if you can help.
I turn on the Octagon, and the menu still in German. I can not find anywhere to change it. Below is the first menu option. Somebody can help? I couldn't find any tutorial on how to change it.
I'm flashing an image right now in usb stick as suggested. Let's see if I it will help. The file is from Open spa 8.1.002-sf8008-20230625_recovery_emmc.zip
Is this correct?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231004_185509546.jpg
    IMG_20231004_185509546.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 15

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Hello just an update. As don't have time during the day, I try to see again if you can help.
I turn on the Octagon, and the menu still in German. I can not find anywhere to change it. Below is the first menu option. Somebody can help? I couldn't find any tutorial on how to change it.
I'm flashing an image right now in usb stick as suggested. Let's see if I it will help. The file is from Open spa 8.1.002-sf8008-20230625_recovery_emmc.zip
Is this correct?
Try to to I but I have not bee able to do. As you can see on the picture it is not recognising the USBIMG_20231004_194753914_BURST000_COVER.jpgIMG_20231004_194737478.jpg..
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,479
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Which image version did you download?
Code:
https://images.openbh.net/?b=5.3%2Foctagon%2Fsf8008

The first one should be the one to flash the image onto your receivers flash memory, and has the octagon folder, and the sf8008 sub folder. The second is for recovery.

First try loading the octagon folder, on your freshly FAT 32 formatted USB stick, and try USB update option.
Please post back with updates.
 

Loquacious

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
51
Points
28
Age
60
Location
Shoreham by Sea - West Sussex - UK
My Satellite Setup
Motor : HD Line DisceqC Motor 50-120 ( apparently a Moteck SG2100A clone)
Dish : Dur- Line Aluminium 75/80cm
LNB : Dur - Line Twin
4. Receiver: Fortec Star HD Passion Plus ( 2010 )
5. WF 100 cable
My Location
Shoreham by Sea
Thanks , will do it again tomorrow.
Good night
 
Top