Multi LNB Set up on a Sky Dish

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,736
Reaction score
2,325
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Personally I would use expanding wall bolts and slightly longer - maybe 60mm - and put some epoxy resin in the holes before you push the bolts in.
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
526
Reaction score
113
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Personally I would use expanding wall bolts and slightly longer - maybe 60mm - and put some epoxy resin in the holes before you push the bolts in.
Once I put epoxy in and bolts were making round and round circles
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,736
Reaction score
2,325
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Once I put epoxy in and bolts were making round and round circles
Because you didn't allow the resin to begin to pretty much set before you started tightening the bolts (and maybe the holes were too big to start with)!
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Personally I would use expanding wall bolts and slightly longer - maybe 60mm - and put some epoxy resin in the holes before you push the bolts in.
Expanding wall bolts - are these rawl plugs/anchor bolts?

I’ve used those a few times, but I always end with at least one get wrong. I haven’t used the resin yet, I’ll have a look into that.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,736
Reaction score
2,325
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Metal bodied anchor bolts, not "plastic" "Rawlplugs" or anything similar that doesn't expand (as opposed to compress) when the bolt is tightened.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands

Would that be suitable for the TK brackets? It is only 3.2mm and mild steel, so I'm wondering if that will be strong enough?
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,736
Reaction score
2,325
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!

Would that be suitable for the TK brackets? It is only 3.2mm and mild steel, so I'm wondering if that will be strong enough?
Quite adequate provided the top support to the wall is not far (say 0.4m or less) below the dish clamp.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Sorry, that’s gone over my head.

I was thinking of going for an 8ft pole. Have about 4ft between the brackets, 3ft above the top bracket, and 1ft below the bottom one.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,721
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
What jeallen01 means is that he thinks if the amount of pole above the top bracket is under 40cm the 3.25mm wall thickness pole should be OK.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
What jeallen01 means is that he thinks if the amount of pole above the top bracket is under 40cm the 3.25mm wall thickness pole should be OK.
I’ll be at least twice that. It’ll be about 80cm above the top bracket.

Would I need 4mm thickness in that case or even thicker?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,721
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
To be honest I don't know. Scaffold pole or even 3" pole would my choice.

Here's an interesting page testing aerial poles:
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
I've found a good spot in my garden where I can put a zone 1 dish (the one that I was thinking of putting on the front of the house).

It's right in the corner of the garden.

The ground is soil, but its covered by a pile of stones. There is probably about half a cubic metre of stones there at the moment.

Do you think it would be stable if I were to plant a small pole, probably about 6ft, so about 1.5 feet in the ground and 4.5 feet above it using some postcrete? I do have the option of surrounding the pole with all the stones to ensure stability.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,736
Reaction score
2,325
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Dig a big and slightly deeper hole, put in some of the stones as well as the postcrete and then put the pole in the middle of that and make sure it really is absolutely vertical. It might even pay to use a "stronger" pole in case you want to fit a bigger dish at a later date.????
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
526
Reaction score
113
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Dig a big and slightly deeper hole, put in some of the stones as well as the postcrete and then put the pole in the middle of that and make sure it really is absolutely vertical. It might even pay to use a "stronger" pole in case you want to fit a bigger dish at a later date.????
You can easily use fence post in the garden corner and it is cheap 75x75mm or 95x95mm couple of bags mixed concrete then screw zone 1 bracket on it
paint the post with fence paint before using
 
Last edited:

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
I do have access to a few breeze blocks, are they useful in anyway? I was thinking if I just put them around the pole to ensure stability.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
You can easily use fence post in the garden corner and it is cheap 75x75mm or 95x95mm couple of bags mixed concrete then screw zone 1 bracket on it
paint the post with fence paint before using
Do you mean to use a wooden fence post?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,721
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
If it's just a zone 1 then a wooden post will be fine. I have a few zone 2s attached to fence posts.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,736
Reaction score
2,325
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
If it's just a zone 1 then a wooden post will be fine. I have a few zone 2s attached to fence posts.
Same here - had an available fence post been mentioned in post #152, then I would have suggested using that instead of a pole in the ground.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
So the post is on the other side of the fence facing the neighbours, but I'll have a look putting one on this side too.
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
526
Reaction score
113
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Last edited:
Top