My motor setup tutorial

longstockings

Satellite Whore
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
148
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
44
Website
www.tm9100.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 1500 CI+
80cm Polycarbnate Dish
0.3db Universal LNB
Moteck Digipower Motor
My Location
Totnes, Devon 50.4320N, 3.6690W
Installing a motorised satellite system

Most people that install a motorised satellite system do so because they are not happy with all of the repeats that SKY show, because of curiosity, channels in their native tongue or maybe for the hardcore uncensored mature content.

Installing a motorised satellite system is a challenge but well worth the time spent. For this tutorial I will assume that you are going to wall mount your dish but if not you will be glad to know that most of the information here will still apply to you.

Following the instructions found here you should be able to have a fully working system within 3-4 hours.

You will need:

A satellite receiver
A satellite dish
An LNB
T & K brackets
A pole
A motor
Satellite cable
F plugs etc to make the connections
A satellite Meter
A compass
Ladder
Toolbox

Advice on what to buy

Determine what you want to watch i.e. movies, music, documentaries or whatever you can get as this will determine what satellite receiver you buy. Some receivers can be patched with software to allow you to view pay TV but others may require you to buy a conditional access module which you would have to program in order to view encrypted channels. There are receivers out there that use software to emulate these cam's but these types of boxes are usually for enthusiasts only and are quite expensive i.e. Dreambox.

Your best bet is to buy something that can be upgraded in the future but also very simple for you to use and for this purpose I would recommend a Technomate satellite receiver. The Technomate 1500 CI+ would be my choice as it represents good value and is so simple a young child could operate it.

Buying a complete kit is a good way of saving money and you know that everything you have purchased was designed to work together.

Satellite dishes can be thought of as very ugly devices but there are ways of disguising your dish. Metal dishes can be sprayed with car paint to help them blend into the surroundings or you may want to by a transparent satellite dish made of polycarbonates which for installations near the seaside are brilliant as they do not rust. New products are always being developed to help people disguise their satellite installations. As with allot of things size really does matter but due to the local council's dislike of satellite dishes you may not get planning permission for anything to large and your neighbours may complain if the dish obstructs a view from their property so I would recommend not going for a dish any bigger than 90cm though you can always risk a bigger dish and hope that nobody notices. Bigger dishes are essential for picking up weaker signals.

You want to buy a universal LNB and preferably 0.3db. The lower the number the better the picture quality will be. Universal means that the LNB is not fixed to only receiving channels on a certain band.

The motor should support Diseqc 1.2, Goto X and USALS as should your satellite receiver. USALS stand for Universal Satellite Automatic Locator System and use your longitude and latitude in order to track the satellites positioned above the Clarke belt. Having USALS will make things simple so it's a good thing to have. The Moteck Digipower 2100A would be my choice as it supports all of the above and can turn from 75E to 75W. This motor can be driven using buttons on the base of the unit which helps to set the dish up quickly. It also moves quite quickly so you don't have to wait so long when moving from one satellite to another.

Starting the install

A dry warm weekend is best for this preferably when your partner is out shopping or something. Start by looking for a neighbours Sky satellite dish and look where the dish arm is pointing. As we are in the North and the satellites circle the equator we know that our dish has to have a clear view of the south. Alternatively use a compass for a more precise reading. Look at your home and decide where the best place to mount the dish will be. Mine is on the side of my house just above the roof so it has an unobstructed view of the sky both East to West.

Once you have decided where the dish will go you need to fix the brackets to the wall. Opinions differ as to how these should be fitted to the wall but I prefer to have the K at the top as I believe it adds greater stability to the dish especially in high winds. The brackets should be approximately 1m apart. You will need strong bolts in order to get a good fixing.

Once complete you will need to attach the pole using U clamps and make sure that the pole is 100% vertical. This is the most important thing you will do so make sure it's spot on and check with either a spirit level or inclinometer.
A hammer may be needed to tap the brackets and pole in order to get things completely level.

Once complete go and have a cup of tea and read the instruction leaflet that came with your dish. Dish assembly is quite straight forward.

Unpack the motor and flick through the instructions. There should be a chart which tells you what to set the inclination and declination to on your motor and satellite dish based on your latitude. If you don't know what your latitude and longitude are you can visit www.multimap.com and type in your post code. Your latitude and longitude will be displayed under the picture of the map.

Now would be a good time to wire up the LNB to the motor. Pre made cables for this purpose are available.

Set the motor and dish to the settings given in the motor manual and triple check everything as it's far easier to work on the dish when it's on ground level. Now bolt the dish to the motor insuring that the motor is set to 0 degrees and that the dish goes on completely central. Again this is an important step so make sure it’s accurate.

Take the dish up the ladder and bolt it onto the pole making sure the dish will not be obstructed by anything. Using a compass find magnetic south and adjust to find true south. A map that shows the magnetic variation for your location is helpful but not essential as you can turn the dish manually and raise and lower the dish as long as the brackets are loosened.

As a general rule you want to find the closest satellite to your longitude, which will always be the highest satellite in the sky and gives you a better chance of tracking the arc, in my case I chose Thor 1W (If you were in Dublin say, you would be better with Atlantic Bird at 5W).

Plug in your satellite receiver and run a cable outside so that you can plug in your satellite meter. Satellite meters take power from the receiver so the receiver will need to be on and not just in standby. A good meter for this purpose is the Digisat Pro satellite meter. Connect your cable from the receiver and another cable to the motor and gently move the dish side to side and up and down until you get the best possible signal. Once complete you can tighten up the brackets and run a new satellite cable from the motor to the satellite receiver.

Satellite cables come in 3 main colours which are white, brown and black. You should use the colour of cable that is most pleasing to the eye. I find black cable is best suited to brick houses.

You should now weatherproof your hard work with silicone and tape and make sure that the cables are long enough that should the dish move a long way in one direction that the cables will not be stretched or damaged.

You can now set your receiver to USALS and start scanning and storing satellites.
It is advisable to check which satellites you can receive for your size / type of dish on the satellite forums. You may need to tweak your setup a little to get a good signal on all satellites.


That's all there is to it.
If you get stuck it may be advisable to seek professional help.
 

Likvid

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
53
My Location
Stockholm, Sweden
People like you helping other people is what makes the Internet so great, thanks!
 

BGonaSTICK

Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
5,145
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Age
50
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7000, Skystar2
My Location
Brighton
... and I thought it was all the free mature content?!?!?! O-Ha
 

Likvid

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
53
My Location
Stockholm, Sweden
P0rn for newbies
 

Lancelot

Retired Mod
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
3,639
Reaction score
10
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
SS1.
125cm Gibbi with Channelmaster feedhorn and Inverto C120 twin.
36v H to H 62E - 61.5W
My Location
South central
There's free mature content too ? :eek:
 

frund

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
279
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
triax 1.1 tm 1500ci+ dm patch. Moteck 2100. Intel 4300 based pc . LG7500. 32" lcd
My Location
Wales. UK.
Great post. Is there a tutorial anywhere on cards, cams, loaders etc and what does what. Mug proof version.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,016
Reaction score
4,045
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
I'm going to make this a sticky so it doesn't disappear.

PaulR
 

boycee

Member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
newbie
Have followed your tutorial. I am stuck at finding Thor1 west. I have a signal reading of 70 but the quality never moves above 10. I have a technomate 5000 ci with 1m dish. Universal LNB I can get other satellites Hotbird, Astra but I do not have arc setup right. Do I need to set it up off Thor or can I do it off another satellite?
 

longstockings

Satellite Whore
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
148
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
44
Website
www.tm9100.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 1500 CI+
80cm Polycarbnate Dish
0.3db Universal LNB
Moteck Digipower Motor
My Location
Totnes, Devon 50.4320N, 3.6690W
You should aim to get the best possible signal on the satellite closest to your longtitude which will depend on your location. I just used Thor though and my system works beautifully.

You must ensure
The pole is 100% vertical
That you fixed the dish to the motor centrally
Move the dish up and down / left and right until best signal is achieved

Give it another go but if you can't get it before dusk just temporarily fix your system to hotbird so at least you have something to watch. Go to alsat.co.uk and get the patch for your receiver and weather permitting get it spot on over the weekend.

If I'm around I'll help you as best as I can
 

-RTFM-

DB Reader
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Location
Gloucestershire
boycee said:
Have followed your tutorial. I am stuck at finding Thor1 west. I have a signal reading of 70 but the quality never moves above 10. I have a technomate 5000 ci with 1m dish. Universal LNB I can get other satellites Hotbird, Astra but I do not have arc setup right. Do I need to set it up off Thor or can I do it off another satellite?

Any statellite will do but 1 west is great because its top of the arc. if you have the pole 100% vertical and a good signal on here (about 85 for me) everything else should fall into place.

It can be frustrating especially, if like me you are new to all this and have DIY skills which make Mr Bean look like Handy Andy. But stick with it you can do it
 

boycee

Member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
newbie
Hi guys,

Managed to get the arc sorted. I changed the transponder values for Thor and got 80% quality signal. The rest of the satellites fell into place.

Thanks for your help so far guys

Non-dish setup question moved to separate post in cards and programmers section. Admin
 

philbury

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2005
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
W7MC - FireDTV and hauppauge S2 tuners
My Location
London & Languedoc
Just the info I was looking for - now can anyone suggest where I can buy a reasonably priced suitable motorised kit? -

I was planning on a 60 cm dish. (London)
 
J

Jeff_19341

Guest
Hi philbury

You could have a look at "longstockings" web site or this h**p://69.64.49.246/shop/index.php, right hand side of page. They have a shop in Kilburn/Cricklewood (London).
JuMbuCk
 

4dbennett

lifes not a practice run
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
362
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
SPIDERBOX 9000HD, 1.2 and Humax Foxsat HD,Hitachi L500HDD
Acer Aspire 5315 Lappy
My Location
torfaen south wales
an excellent guide for set up which ive followed, any tips on downloading
programmes, or what forums to visit for advice, thanks
 

skytel

Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
TM6800
DM500s
TM9100
88cm dish
stab hh100
sky+
My Location
Southend Essex
make sure you enter you longitude and latitude before alignind dish if you are using usals, other wise your dish will not be aligned properly if you set up the usals afterwards
 

gojet

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
ITGATE TGS100 ..GOLDEN INTERSTAR 8005s ....powersky 8210..TechniSat "SkyStar 2 pci card..1.2 mrt dish & motor ...2 fixed dish astra ..hotbird...
My Location
uk
tnx m8 sure piked up some nice tips great tut ..
 

jcinsa

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Technonate 1500+ci
90cm dish
HH2100 motor
My Location
Cornwall
Many thanks really useful information for a newbee
 

AuldDuffer

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Medion 8818 PC with Skystar2. 90cm dish with Astra/Hotbird monoblock and a nice, shiny new Motec positioner :-)
My Location
Teesside, North East, UK
Great tutorial but I'm not 100% clear about the intial lining up stuff. Do I set up the USALS info first (Lat & Long) then line the motor up so that at 0 degrees it points due South and then tell the motor to move to(say) Thor at 1W or do I line up the motor so that 0 degrees actually points to 1W ? I'm at 1.3W if that makes any difference.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,285
Reaction score
1,607
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
If you set up the USALS and drive to 1W, then when you fine tune the dish to 1W, it should be spot on. :)
 
Top