Thinking of a new technomate box

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
52
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,504
Reaction score
3,090
Points
113
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Thanks for that.What signal quality is the box reporting. I’m using a 1m dish.
74% it says on the attached picture..
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
568
Reaction score
132
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Badr4BSS 43dbw same footprint over Ireland and central Scotland. it’s very weather dependent.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
52
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
74% it says on the attached picture..
Got that now thanks. The attachment was blocked at this end. Time to adjust the dish I reckon. Elevation is slightly too low I imagine. Reception on the full arc east to west is fine but I’m picking known low signal transponders to do final adjustments. Once again thanks for the heads up.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,504
Reaction score
3,090
Points
113
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Got that now thanks. The attachment was blocked at this end. Time to adjust the dish I reckon. Elevation is slightly too low I imagine. Reception on the full arc east to west is fine but I’m picking known low signal transponders to do final adjustments. Once again thanks for the heads up.
Now up to 80%
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
52
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
Now up to 80%
A little adjustment on the elevation here and it’s up to 72% and satellites on either end of the arc have improved too. I haven’t adjusted the dish for quite a long time so that was worth my while. Your report definitely helped here. Thanks again.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
52
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
Nice to see another official firmware update from Technomate dated 17th September 2021 released. Once the 7 day EPG issue is resolved this will be a very useful motorised Freesat/FTV receiver.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
274
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Not many boxes have epg for 28.2e. only ever 19e or 13e . Why is that
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Channels on 28.2°E only broadcast now & next EPG data as standard. To get 7 days the receiver will have to decode the Freesat or Sky EPG, or pull the data from an online source.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
274
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Is that closed source or publicly available to decode
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
I've never really looked into it, though I think I've seen it said that some receivers can access the Freesat EPG information.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,691
Reaction score
7,417
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I've never really looked into it, though I think I've seen it said that some receivers can access the Freesat EPG information.
Some of a certain 'era' will recall the Passion/Passion + receiver being able to pull seven day epg data from Astra 2 channels.


Perhaps the same fix can be used.

In those days Technomate was somewhat entwined FortecStar, I wonder what happened to that ?
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
274
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
I had a fortec star passion my first hd box but don't remember bothering with epg.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,504
Reaction score
3,090
Points
113
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
I had a fortec star passion my first hd box but don't remember bothering with epg.
OK on a Dreambox with the relevant plugin..
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
52
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
I had a fortec star passion my first hd box but don't remember bothering with epg.
Probably because PVR/recording wasn’t such a big thing back then. I use the 7 day EPG to great effect on my PC with a Skystar PCI card and TV Headend and Kodi. Once the 7 day EPG appears on the TM it will make life a little easier for me.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
274
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Top