Two distinct issues after replacing my dish

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
Yes, everything was on the Sky dish and, as I recall, alignment of it didn't take too long. I've experimented with the long neck already but plan to do so again. There is a cordless phone in the house but it's quite far from the the dish.
 

ozumo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
679
Reaction score
261
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
So what happens if you unplug the phone power supply?
 

Gladstones55

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
291
Reaction score
24
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter , Technomate TM2600 , Octagon SX88+se
My Location
Midlothian
My cordless phone is next to my box no affect what so ever. In rare case it can interfere with signal.
Its sounds like dish is misaligned ( left or right , up or down , keep the lnb skew in the middle to start with ) I am in Edinburgh my sky lnb is at 5 O’Clock position. Keep most of the lnb outside lnb clamp.
The best of the best way to align dish is to keep tele and box in front of your eyes.
Good luck.
 

4wd

Getting the picture
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
1,614
Reaction score
2,132
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
5 W, 9-13-19-28 E
My Location
Bergen, Norway \ Alpes Maritimes, France
Bloomberg 11686 should be zero problem (see attach., Norway reception).
Freq is right at the lo-hi crosspoint where some combinations of lnb \ receiver can have trouble. I'd 1st of all test with another lnb.
Lo band (10.7-11.7GHz)
Hi band (11.7GHz-12.75GHz)
 

Attachments

  • bl.jpg
    bl.jpg
    126.4 KB · Views: 7

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,136
Reaction score
7,953
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
My cordless phone is next to my box no affect what so ever. In rare case it can interfere with signal.
Its sounds like dish is misaligned ( left or right , up or down , keep the lnb skew in the middle to start with ) I am in Edinburgh my sky lnb is at 5 O’Clock position. Keep most of the lnb outside lnb clamp.
The best of the best way to align dish is to keep tele and box in front of your eyes.
Good luck.

DECT (and other potential interference sources) exploit weaknesses in screening. Receivers themselves are generally immune owing to the Faraday Cage effect. But cabling, joints, connections etc. are fair game for exploitation.

Because one person's installation is unaffected does not mean that someone else's is and the OP would be advised to spend a few minutes powering down any and all potential interference sources - Cordless Phones, WiFi Routers etc. to see if the missing channels issues resolves. If it does, restore power sequentially until the culprit is identified. If it turns out not to be an interference issue, then little time has been lost eliminating it.

Well worth doing before carrying out further dish tweaking.


FYI, latest generation DECT work at around 1.9 GHz (earlier generation around 1.8 GHz) which corresponds to downshift frequencies (signals carried from the LNB to the Box) relating to Ku band Transponders close to 9750 + 1900 MHz (= 11650 MHz) and 10600 + 1900 MHz (= 12500 MHz).

The Transponder at issue is nominally 11686 MHz, so clearly prone.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,612
Reaction score
6,907
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
DECT (and other potential interference sources) exploit weaknesses in screening. Receivers themselves are generally immune owing to the Faraday Cage effect. But cabling, joints, connections etc. are fair game for exploitation.

Because one person's installation is unaffected does not mean that someone else's is and the OP would be advised to spend a few minutes powering down any and all potential interference sources - Cordless Phones, WiFi Routers etc. to see if the missing channels issues resolves. If it does, restore power sequentially until the culprit is identified. If it turns out not to be an interference issue, then little time has been lost eliminating it.

Well worth doing before carrying out further dish tweaking.


FYI, latest generation DECT work at around 1.9 GHz (earlier generation around 1.8 GHz) which corresponds to downshift frequencies (signals carried from the LNB to the Box) relating to Ku band Transponders close to 9750 + 1900 MHz (= 11650 MHz) and 10600 + 1900 MHz (= 12500 MHz).

The Transponder at issue is nominally 11686 MHz, so clearly prone.
A problematic f plug, moisture, or a kink somewhere in the cable can also cause issues at a similar if frequency
 

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
Unplugging the phone and router made no difference to the two rogue channels, Bloomberg and Daystar. Am I correct in saying they are the only two channels on that particular transponder that Freesat would pick up?

I don't have another LNB to test with, 4wd. If it comes down to it, I can live without those channels. Nasty weather today so further dish shoogling will have to wait.

An LNB at 5 o'clock, Gladstone55? Shouldn't it be turned just a couple of minutes clockwise?

Meantime, thanks for all the positive input. Nice to know you're not alone.
 

Gladstones55

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
291
Reaction score
24
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter , Technomate TM2600 , Octagon SX88+se
My Location
Midlothian
Sorry lnb is at 6:30 o’clock just checked
But even if I keep it straight it’s makes no difference to the signal
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
734
Reaction score
360
Points
63
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
Do I understand right, that you have a new dish AND new LNB?

After the Reset, did you do a blind scan? Or what kind of scan did you do?
(I'm thinking about LOF drift as a possible cause.)

The Transponder at issue is nominally 11686 MHz,
I would try a single transponder scan, not only on 11686V, but also on 11681V and on 11691V. (Following the possible LOF drift.)

Greetz,
A33
 

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
Hi a33. I've googled 'LOF drift' but can't find a good explanation of what it is...

Yes, dish and LNB fresh out of their boxes. I did a simple 'Auto Scan' with my Foxsat receiver. In it's transponder search section, I searched 11681V and 11685V (not 11686) (that's the only eleven six hundreds there were) and both came back 'No channels found'.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
734
Reaction score
360
Points
63
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
Found some good info in German while googling: Frequenzdrift - TopfWiki
I guess Google translate will make it more or less understandable?

Did you also try 11691V?
(You could 'add' a frequency, I guess?!)
If both 11681 and 11691 fail, the cause is not LOF drift in your LNB.

Greetz,
A33
 

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
Danke. As well as a long list of transponders, my receiver also has a 'User Defined' option but I'm still trying to figure it out...
 

ozumo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
679
Reaction score
261
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
Is everything the same as before, apart from LNB & dish? Did you replace cables, add a wall socket or anything?

User defined is where you manually input/add transponder details. Frequency 11686, polarisation Vertical, symbol rate 23000, FEC 2/3, DVB-S2, 8PSK. Increasing/decreasing the frequency as a33 suggested will test for drift.
 

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
Figured it... 11691V using Symbol rate 27500 'No channels found'.
 

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
No, ozumo, all as before, just replaced the dish/LNB.
 

ozumo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
679
Reaction score
261
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
You need to use the settings as in post #34. Anything different (other than the slight frequency changes) will never find Bloomberg.
 

pooksahib

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Fixed Triax dish for Freesat.
My Location
Scotland
Ah, sussed it. using Vertical, 23000, FEC 2/3, DVB-S2, 8PSK with 11686, 11681 and 11691 gives me No Channels Found each time.

So Frequency 11686, polarisation Vertical, symbol rate 23000, FEC 2/3, DVB-S2, 8PSK is the specific location of Bloomberg is it? Where do you find out that kind of stuff?

Hopefully tomorrow's weather will let me do some further dish tweaking...
 

ozumo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
679
Reaction score
261
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham

It's a pain in the behind to manually add transponders on these old Humax receivers. On most modern receivers you just input frequency, polarisation & symbol rate - everything else is worked out automatically. Or blind scan where it'll find everything with no other user input.
 

ozumo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
679
Reaction score
261
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
Do you live near any mobile phone masts? I'm wondering if the Inverto Black Ultra is more susceptible to interference than your previous LNB, newer Invertos are marketed as having resilience to 4G.
 
Top