Which ~1m Dish

DonSE2

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
21
Points
8
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
TD110
My Location
London
Can anyone help with the motor setup? I got a brand 'new' TM 2600 and out of the box it looks like rather being zero'd it's like 1 degree east (see picture). (Assuming it's not being set to go to 1E) should I zero it,then reset it before sending it to 0.8w and aligning?
 

Attachments

  • motor.jpg
    motor.jpg
    200.3 KB · Views: 23

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
plug it into receiver (for power) then nudge it slightly using the east west buttons.

once centered on zero, connect up properly - bolt the dish on to motor (dead centre) - bolt motor and dish on to your pole.....(make sure pole is dead level)

make sure receiver at this point has correct latitude and longittude

once up, (not fully tightened) - then choose channel on 1w, so the motor moves a bit to the west, then manually turn the whole assembly on pole, i.e motor (with dish) on the pole until you lock onto 1w - tighten up motor clamp on pole, then get on with your tweaking with dish and motor angles for usals

always send dish back to 1w when you do your tweaking, then send to east or west again for checking
 
Last edited:

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
540
Reaction score
120
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
before put it on better adjust the limit under the sticker (if needed at some point) also check the motor arm bolt fully tight otherwise you will get bit play when motor moves.
 

Attachments

  • 2BF8D306-E1D2-49DC-9839-5997508B9E3E.jpeg
    2BF8D306-E1D2-49DC-9839-5997508B9E3E.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 19

DonSE2

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
21
Points
8
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
TD110
My Location
London
Ok so it's all set up now, tried to align it as best I can and i'm just beating what I was getting on the Triax. Might be able to tweak it a bit more but doubt it will improve much. Tempted to have one last crack with the Triax to see what I can get out of it before frustration kicks in.
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
540
Reaction score
120
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Ok so it's all set up now, tried to align it as best I can and i'm just beating what I was getting on the Triax. Might be able to tweak it a bit more but doubt it will improve much. Tempted to have one last crack with the Triax to see what I can get out of it before frustration kicks in.
share some signal readings
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Surely Triax would beat the Katherine dish as it's slightly bigger. Why did u go down the new dish route ? If you're beating the Triax, if only slightly, why bother going back to Triax and the nasty sliding bracket ? I feel your pain tho. I spent a lot on my Laminas , all was well until the winds came and then it was always blowing out of alignment on a DISECQ motor. Laminas is now redundant as I've gone 36v and channel master . Should have done that initially. You live and learn . I now have a spare 1.2 laminas and a 90cm CM DOING NOTHING
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Oh and a polar mount and a brand new actuator doing nothing .
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,778
Reaction score
2,345
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Ok so it's all set up now, tried to align it as best I can and i'm just beating what I was getting on the Triax. Might be able to tweak it a bit more but doubt it will improve much. Tempted to have one last crack with the Triax to see what I can get out of it before frustration kicks in.
Frankly, that doesn't surprise me as the dishes aren't that dissimilar in "size", and you'd have to get a substantially larger one (1.2-1.3m) for the SS/SQ to improve "dramatically".

It's not simply the "top-edge to bottom-edge" dimension that "counts" but the overall "signal collection area" - which will be much larger on a 1.2-1.3m dish than it is on a "90-100cm" dish.

Edited: think of the issue this way, and I DO know that off-set dishes are not circular (!) - the area of a circle can be calculated by the formula A=p*"r squared" Thus a 100cm circular dish would have an area of 3.142* 50*50 => 3.142*2500 = around 0.8sq metres, whereas a 120 cm dish would have an area of around 1.5 sq metres, i.e. nearly double that of a 100cm dish!
NB: all calcs done very roughly in my apology for a brain and thus "subject to error", but I think you'll get the "general idea" :D
 
Last edited:

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Basically what I said
 

DonSE2

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
21
Points
8
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
TD110
My Location
London
Surely Triax would beat the Katherine dish as it's slightly bigger. Why did u go down the new dish route ? If you're beating the Triax, if only slightly, why bother going back to Triax and the nasty sliding bracket ? I feel your pain tho. I spent a lot on my Laminas , all was well until the winds came and then it was always blowing out of alignment on a DISECQ motor. Laminas is now redundant as I've gone 36v and channel master . Should have done that initially. You live and learn . I now have a spare 1.2 laminas and a 90cm CM DOING NOTHING

Frankly, that doesn't surprise me as the dishes aren't that dissimilar in "size", and you'd have to get a substantially larger one (1.2-1.3m) for the SS/SQ to improve "dramatically".

It's not simply the "top-edge to bottom-edge" dimension that "counts" but the overall "signal collection area" - which will be much larger on a 1.2-1.3m dish than it is on a "90-100cm" dish.

Edited: think of the issue this way, and I DO know that off-set dishes are not circular (!) - the area of a circle can be calculated by the formula A=p*"r squared" Thus a 100cm circular dish would have an area of 3.142* 50*50 => 3.142*2500 = around 0.8sq metres, whereas a 120 cm dish would have an area of around 1.5 sq metres, i.e. nearly double that of a 100cm dish!
NB: all calcs done very roughly in my apology for a brain and thus "subject to error", but I think you'll get the "general idea" :D

Yes in an ideal world the Triax would generate more signal but getting the bracket peaked is quite a task, just tightening the screws throws it off. I'm going to have another go with the Triax because when I adjusted it (after it got knocked out of alignment) I wasn't too familiar with how to do it, having done the Kathrein today with a proper handheld tuner i'm better placed to get the Triax more accurately aligned potentially.

This seems silly to most as we're talking marginal differences here but as a feed watcher sometimes the extra 0.5db makes a difference between being able to watch something and not. Bigger dish isn't feasible so just trying to optimise what I have
 

DonSE2

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
21
Points
8
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
TD110
My Location
London
share some signal readings

Noted these earlier. Interested to know if you can tune them on your Gibertini...
I have no reference to before but trying to tune them on my 1M Dish with TM5402 in London

11012 H - 51% and 7.1db - Just locks but breakup
11054 H - 56% and 7.5db - Ok
12604 H - 59% and 8.3db - Ok
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
That 0.5db gain will be gone come the strong gusts of autumn winter
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
193
Reaction score
25
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Edited: think of the issue this way, and I DO know that off-set dishes are not circular (!) - the area of a circle can be calculated by the formula A=p*"r squared" Thus a 100cm circular dish would have an area of 3.142* 50*50 => 3.142*2500 = around 0.8sq metres, whereas a 120 cm dish would have an area of around 1.5 sq metres, i.e. nearly double that of a 100cm dish!
NB: all calcs done very roughly in my apology for a brain and thus "subject to error", but I think you'll get the "general idea" :D

the method is pretty much spot on, but a slight overstatement for the 1.2m dish’s area.

Assuming these dishes are all ellipses, you can use the following formula for area

pi * height/2 * width/2

(Which is also the formulae for the area of a circle, as that is a type of ellipse too)

When comparing two different dishes, you can use the below as the pis (plural of pi) and 1/2s cancel out.

height * width of dish 1/height * width of dish 2

So for a 1.2m dish vs a 1m dish, it’ll be 44% bigger.

1.2*1.2 / 1*1 = 1.44
 
Last edited:

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
540
Reaction score
120
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Noted these earlier. Interested to know if you can tune them on your Gibertini...
Midlothian is too far away compare to london for this kind of reception.
 

siroscar

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
none
My Location
Portugal
Hi!

I would like to try having a satellite dish but I don't understand much of the subject and I have some doubts about the process, basically the necessary equipment and what is needed to do, if you can give some help it would be nice!

From what I understand with the dish it is possible to directly get the feeds from the satellite and then the receiver receives the feed and transmits it on TV.

But then I'm a little doubtful in terms of equipment that is necessary to buy for this.

Some questions I have are:
- we need to buy a satellite dish, but how big should it be? I've seen them with 60, 80 cm and over 1 meter, I also saw some dishes with an engine system
- Then in terms of receivers I saw the amiko 8155hd line ccam seem, do you know if it works for this goal?
- And for what I understand the feeds are encoded, does the receiver (for example the amiko or another) automatically decode the feeds or is something else needed?
- Also do you know if its necessary to buy a satellite card for PC? Or is it just the satellite dish and the receiver?

Thanks!
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
540
Reaction score
120
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Hi!

I would like to try having a satellite dish but I don't understand much of the subject and I have some doubts about the process, basically the necessary equipment and what is needed to do, if you can give some help it would be nice!

From what I understand with the dish it is possible to directly get the feeds from the satellite and then the receiver receives the feed and transmits it on TV.

But then I'm a little doubtful in terms of equipment that is necessary to buy for this.

Some questions I have are:
- we need to buy a satellite dish, but how big should it be? I've seen them with 60, 80 cm and over 1 meter, I also saw some dishes with an engine system
- Then in terms of receivers I saw the amiko 8155hd line ccam seem, do you know if it works for this goal?
- And for what I understand the feeds are encoded, does the receiver (for example the amiko or another) automatically decode the feeds or is something else needed?
- Also do you know if its necessary to buy a satellite card for PC? Or is it just the satellite dish and the receiver?

Thanks!
Wellcome to the forum Best is to start a new thread then plenty of help available thank you.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
193
Reaction score
25
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Yes in an ideal world the Triax would generate more signal but getting the bracket peaked is quite a task, just tightening the screws throws it off. I'm going to have another go with the Triax because when I adjusted it (after it got knocked out of alignment) I wasn't too familiar with how to do it, having done the Kathrein today with a proper handheld tuner i'm better placed to get the Triax more accurately aligned potentially.

This seems silly to most as we're talking marginal differences here but as a feed watcher sometimes the extra 0.5db makes a difference between being able to watch something and not. Bigger dish isn't feasible so just trying to optimise what I have
Hey Don,

Did you try any feeds on 10E or with this dish?
 

DonSE2

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
21
Points
8
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
TD110
My Location
London
Bit of an update. After a running a few tests on both dishes in the garden the signal was virtually identical. I was all set to go and mount the Kathrein on the roof but then I decided to have one more play with the Triax. By luck when I was tweaking the bracket I had the motor over at 15w. Well this made the difference because I managed to get another 0.5-1dB out of it. With it at 0.8w you're trying to support the dish, set the elevation and do up the bolts without skewing the dish. Over at 15w the bracket was taking some of the weight so with an eye on the meter I could slowly tighten the bolts maintaining optimal signal. When comparing the readings with the Kathrein I was getting up to an extra dB out of the Triax across all transponders. I'm aware the Triax might get blown out of line slightly come the first big winds and end up performing like the Kathrein but I can always realign it if needed. The extra dB will make all the difference on some transponders

Unfortunately the professional I got to do the roof install (had some other cabling to run so thought i'd get him to do it all) wasn't qualified at all so i'm going to have to re-do it all
 
Top