Listen Up Windows 11 - "How low can you go?" - it's a LOT higher than for W10! :(

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
@Satspot

And good luck (and I mean it!) to you with that approach, but, TBH, I'm just a bit too old (75 & counting, and with too many other personal and family problems right now :rolleyes:) to really want to experiment (in my world!) with a new-to-me OS (actually not quite true - I upgraded stepdaughter's very old Celeron netbook to a Linux distro some years ago, but it was then just "too much trouble" to take that much further with all the other stuff that was/is going on in my life!)

Thus, I think we should get back to the original theme of the thread - and to where MS's latest "revelations" may now take us! :)
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,698
Reaction score
8,609
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Thus, I think we should get back to the original theme of the thread - and to where MS's latest "revelations" may now take us! :)
Win 12 :-wow
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,905
Reaction score
11,334
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
AH I remember when MS said "Windows 10 will be the last operating system"
 

purplemarina

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
605
Reaction score
324
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.2m motorised channelmasters . tm 5302, tm6902,
My Location
hampshire uk.
Ive only just upgraded to win 10:eek: thought i had years before having to upgrade again !!
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,221
Reaction score
2,616
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Ive only just upgraded to win 10:eek: thought i had years before having to upgrade again !!
Still running XP here :-ohmy :lol: Though it's only used offline for car diagnostics and coding.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
@Satspot

And good luck (and I mean it!) to you with that approach, but, TBH, I'm just a bit too old (75 & counting, and with too many other personal and family problems right now :rolleyes:) to really want to experiment (in my world!) with a new-to-me OS (actually not quite true - I upgraded stepdaughter's very old Celeron netbook to a Linux distro some years ago, but it was then just "too much trouble" to take that much further with all the other stuff that was/is going on in my life!)

Thus, I think we should get back to the original theme of the thread - and to where MS's latest "revelations" may now take us! :)
No luck needed here. I started working life in a Unix environment loading mag tapes on mainframes many moons ago and let’s say I got a little curios from there

As for the next step for Windows and Microsoft. The Cloud. That’s where all their energies are being expended these days. That and buying up the likes of GitHub and Xamarin, developers of Mono (allowing their .Net framework to operate on Linux systems) and you can clearly see there’s not a lot of development left in their Windows OS or they certainly don’t think there is if their recent acquisitions are anything to go by.

At this stage I reckon the Windows OS will probably die with their user base.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
Thank you very much!
Not at all. In your case that could be many years from now. Who knows. Btw I’m not too far behind you in years either.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
Still running XP here :-ohmy :lol: Though it's only used offline for car diagnostics and coding.
Wow lucky you added that word “offline” I thought for one awful moment your XP machine was connected to the outside world. Like walking around with zero immunity these days just waiting to be taken down
 

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
1,153
Points
113
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
VCDS \ Vagcom?
FWIW, VCDS ran fine under W10 64 bit in my very old ASUS Vivobook S200, but I haven't yet tried it under W11 on the XPS.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
A Dell XPS with i7-8550U is a decent machine, certainly up to scratch for general use unless a dedicated high end GPU is needed for specific apps.
I have just purchased a second hand Lenovo Thinkpad with similar spec (i7-8565U) for small wad as a spare for use with a TBS 5925 USB tuner.
My XPS 13 came from Dell Refurbished in Dublin in their Black Friday sale (and there wasn't anything like it in the later Boxing Day sale) and it had a better warrantee (6 months) than anything similar at the price (<£400) on eBay/Amazon - Where did you get yours from (for future ref!) ?
 

moonbase

Small Dish Man
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
4,390
Reaction score
4,499
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
UK
My XPS 13 came from Dell Refurbished in Dublin in their Black Friday sale (and there wasn't anything like it in the later Boxing Day sale) and it had a better warrantee (6 months) than anything similar at the price (<£400) on eBay/Amazon - Where did you get yours from (for future ref!) ?

I bought it from the classifieds section of an online forum, including a Lenovo USB-C docking unit for total price of £250 including delivery.
Specs are Lenovo Thinkpad T490s with i7-8565u, 16GB DDR4 2400MHz, 512GB WD NVMe and 14" 1080p screen.

No warranty with it but I am happy to take a punt on it at that wad as the seller has good feedback for classified advert transactions.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Specs are Lenovo Thinkpad T490s with i7-8565u, 16GB DDR4 2400MHz, 512GB WD NVMe and 14" 1080p screen.
That's certainly a much better spec than my XPS 13 and at much lower price - but I really wanted a 12"-13" screen version for casual use in the lounge (anything larger would be rather uncomfortable on my knees for long periods).
 

moonbase

Small Dish Man
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
4,390
Reaction score
4,499
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
UK
That's certainly a much better spec than my XPS 13 and at much lower price - but I really wanted a 12"-13" screen version for casual use in the lounge (anything larger would be rather uncomfortable on my knees for long periods).


If your XPS does the job and you are happy with it that is all that matters.
You would expect to pay a little more for a refurb direct from Dell as it comes with warranty and the Dell direct refurbs are normally in excellent condition.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
If your XPS does the job and you are happy with it that is all that matters.
You would expect to pay a little more for a refurb direct from Dell as it comes with warranty and the Dell direct refurbs are normally in excellent condition.
Absolutely on all counts and thus why I bought it - it looked pretty much like new when it arrived (in spite of bouncing around inside the delivery box, protected only by a bubble-wrap sleeve, and without the USB3 to USB C adapter lead which, according to the manual, was supposed to be with it!).
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,221
Reaction score
2,616
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Like walking around with zero immunity these days just waiting to be taken down
Yes I try to keep anything that's connected 'fully waxed and vaxxed' however we must be wary of new variants and strains ;)

BTW are you still using a phone that hasn't had IOS updates for several years?

Whoops, my mistake, last update was in August :-doh
 
Last edited:

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
436
Reaction score
636
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
Maybe I should have started a new thread - but this could also be a "new challenge" in this one!

FYI on How-to-Geek Microsoft Backs Down: Windows 11 Will Run on Any PC

<snip>

The link in that article is 15 months ago, so not exactly new information. Also, while W11 can run on most PCs even where they don't meet the standard requirements that Microsoft sets, they warn of a lack of possible updates and driver compatibility.

Over the Christmas & New Year period I had an opportunity to upgrade both my main computer & laptop. The main PC was dual-booted originally for LM20 & W10 but a dumb blonde moment with the LM20 OS meant a new OS install was required so I upgraded W10 to W11 and installed a new LM21.1 image. Haven't messed about too much with Windows 11, but it seems to work okay with my setup though I have moved the task bar icons back to the left from the centre, just out of habits dying hard! Linux Mint is the OS I've been largely using on the main PC for a few years now and is my daily driver - I'm having a bit of pain getting Samba to work well but other than that it's fine. I only really stumble back to Windows on the machine if I either need to use software that won't run on Linux Mint (and there's no comparable alternative), or to download updates to keep it healthy.

The laptop, which is over 8 years old, got a nice wee upgrade when I spotted a Kingston 480GB SSD on Amazon for £28 - the HDD drive in that was slowing the whole system to a crawl when things like updates or virus/trojan checker software was happening even with 12GB of RAM. The SSD has made a great difference from booting to the overall user experience, though I did have to install a brand new W10 OS on to the SSD, as my hard drive copier wasn't playing ball for whatever reason - not too much bother as I don't really use the laptop for anything critical and there wasn't too many programs that I had to reinstall. Had to stick with W10 however as a W11 compatibility check showed an incompatible CPU, but that should be fine for another 2+ years at least assuming the laptop keeps going that long and if at that point W10 goes unsupported, there's always popular Linux OS's waiting in the wings.
 
Top