Satdump software & wxsat reception

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,905
Reaction score
11,334
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Got the RTL-SDR (nooelec), got satdump, reading the doc. What have I got myself into? :D

I'm a bit confused about the aerial I should be using. Meteor-m2 3 should be AOS in about 13 minutes. The kit came with three antennae - something like 15cm and 30cm with coils and an extensible "car radio" one. I'm not sure if any of them are suitable having read @Analoguesat 's experiences.
Welcome to this aspect of the hobby :)

You can get away with a simple antenna for the NOAA's - 19 is probably the best one to chase to begin with. Have a look at this thread from a few years ago & try this antenna


Satdump is the modern way to chase the satellites, that old thread refers to wxtoimg - obsolete software but it still works. You will have head scratches & frustrations but hell its good when you get your first images! Dont be afraid to ask questions - Satdump has a steep learning curve but all the contributors on the thread are learning together as we all started with it withinv a few days of each other.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,407
Reaction score
781
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Some of the satellites like the Meteors have a weaker signal then the others like the NOAA satellites, so you might need to use an external antenna like the ones posted earlier in this section.

What documentation on the aerials came with the dongle?? I would try the one with the frequency range in the 136 to 138 MHz range.

Or what did you order from Nooelec? I can look it up.

Nooelec RTL-SDR v5 Groupe - Radio Definie par Logiciel NESDR SMArt HF/VHF/UHF (100kHz-1.75GHz). RTLSDR Premium Avec 0,5PPM TCXO, SMA, boîtier en aluminium, 3 antennes. Radio basée sur RTL2832U, R820T2

 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,407
Reaction score
781
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Welcome to this aspect of the hobby :)

You can get away with a simple antenna for the NOAA's - 19 is probably the best one to chase to begin with. Have a look at this thread from a few years ago & try this antenna


Satdump is the modern way to chase the satellites, that old thread refers to wxtoimg - obsolete software but it still works. You will have head scratches & frustrations but hell its good when you get your first images! Dont be afraid to ask questions - Satdump has a steep learning curve but all the contributors on the thread are learning together as we all started with it withinv a few days of each other.
Thanks. Learning curve is a bit steep :D . I'll have a proper go tomorrow. Thanks again!
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
The 10cm one, I guess :). Thanks. I'm inside though...
I would try the antenna as close to a window as possible, (one facing North or South) the antenna mount looks to be an magnetic one, if it then you should attach it to a metal shelf or a flat steel cookie sheet or any thing that can act as a ground base.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,407
Reaction score
781
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
I would try the antenna as close to a window as possible, (one facing North or South) the antenna mount looks to be an magnetic one, if it then you should attach it to a metal shelf or a flat steel cookie sheet or any thing that can act as a ground base.
my windows are east and west with metal shutters :D. I'll sort something out tomorrow. I'll order some cable and connectors and I can put something on the balcony.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Get some good low loss coax (50 ohm) with SMA connectors on it, you should also get some SMA barrel connectors.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Also if needed Nooelec makes some nice pre-amps, (LNA's) that are powered off the the dongle, just enable the "bias-T" setting in the program.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,905
Reaction score
11,334
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
my windows are east and west with metal shutters :D. I'll sort something out tomorrow. I'll order some cable and connectors and I can put something on the balcony.
I use standard satellite coax cable & that very thin section stuff to get the cabling through windows. Its a rented house so I cant go drilling holes for my cabling. Its probably not ideal but it does. :D

If you want a better antenna at some point a 137MHz turnstile or QFH are both good antennas. Build plans for both can be found on numerous web sites. Iff you are on facebook join the APT Group. Loads of good antennas & tips on there.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Wow, my best pass yet on M2-4, and it's indefinitely tipped on it's side.

Meteor M2-4 pass 5-28b.jpg
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
One way I do some installs where I cant drill a hole through the outside wall is to find a vent pipe in the attic, dill a hole big enough for the coax and it's fitting, drop a string down from the outside with a steel nut on it, then use a magnet to fish it out and pull it through, a little duct tape keeps the bugs out, inside wall holes can be patched.
 

ArloG

Member
Joined
May 18, 2023
Messages
24
Reaction score
17
Points
3
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
12' Fiberglass Dish, C2W & Geosat Pro lnbf, Titanium ASC-1, Osmio4k, Zgemma H7 Client
My Location
N. Central PA, USA
My RHCP QFH is up there around 30'. Made it from catv hardline. Used the design calculator from J. Coppens.
Fed with LMR-400. With a 1/4 wave sleeve balun. SWR is "decent" at around 1.3". The inage on the right is a typical home brew that looks nice.
A search for 137 MHz wx sat antennas will come up with many designs. I know some here that are using a simple horizontal v-dipole have good results.
You'll need a clear view of the sky. Definitely. And even if you can't put a preamp at the antenna, one is really nice to have. I think I mentioned I use a nooelec LANA. Used with my RSP2, it's connected with a short jumper off the back of the radio.
The QFH worked really well for Meteor. As it does for NOAA APT sats.
A sloppy built QFH will work. But you will reap your efforts if you make one as accurate as the design dictates.
The overhead pass above shows it. And the image below shows what was a western pass.
So, a QFH works very well from horizon to horizon with very few "null". Or dropouts.
 

Attachments

  • QFH.jpg
    QFH.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 8
  • noaa-20231112-s-mcir.png
    noaa-20231112-s-mcir.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 8

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,387
Reaction score
1,980
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
I got a nice full color pass on M2-3 this morning, I can almost see my house.
Meteor M2-3 pass 5-29b.jpg
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,407
Reaction score
781
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Got it. Thanks .
Not a sniff (from outside, correct side of the building). I've ordered a preamp, cabling and the FF/MM connectors. Considering building a QFH antenna. I've found them for purchase but for that wavelength they are .... pricy.

 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,905
Reaction score
11,334
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
What sort of elevation was the pass? With a sub opitmal aerial you need a nice high pass. Also have you set the correct frequency 137.1 for NOAA19 in the RECORDER - TRACKING - SCHEDULE & CONFIG section & set the correct parameters in the next panel over. And made it live.

1717014337802.png
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,407
Reaction score
781
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
What sort of elevation was the pass? With a sub opitmal aerial you need a nice high pass. Also have you set the correct frequency 137.1 for NOAA19 in the RECORDER - TRACKING - SCHEDULE & CONFIG section & set the correct parameters in the next panel over. And made it live.

View attachment 156019
Yes, freq is correct and I've set the scheduling. I appear to be at 0dB, though. Which is weird.

1717014799481.png
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,905
Reaction score
11,334
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Turn the lna gain up to maximum. My settings are this - Im still on 1.1.4 on my live system as I couldnt get 1.2 to install correctly when I tried last weekend

1717015467734.png

Set your sample rate to something like 2.048Msps & click start To make the fft visible. You may need to adjust the fft max & min too get a sensible display. Where you need to set it to will depend on your local noise floor.

ALso make sure you have the right dongle selected - mine works on Generic RTL2832u OEM (although its a few years old now)
 
Top