Advice Needed missing frequencies 30W

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
836
Reaction score
419
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
It is basically does not matter what is the depth of the dish to find out offset angle. For offset angle calculations horizontal and vertical dimensions of the WOD is enough.

That is only if the dish is purely paraboloid, that is: parabolical in both horizontal and vertical dimension, and with a flat rim.

So that is not useable with multifeed dishes, such as SMW-OA-1600 or Visiosat(Cahors) (Big) Bisat.
It is also difficult with dishes with non-flat 'rim' of WorkingArea Of Dish (that is the meaning of your abbreviation?), such as broader-than-high dishes as often used in the UK. You'd have to use the water method or something: not easy.

The dish deepest point triangle measurement doesn't have these disadvantages, and also just needs 3 measurements. :)

I believe (but I'm still working on that) that you can also calculate total parabola out of that; so also G-spot, focal point, top string and bottom string and the lot.

I know you are a fan of parabola6 and I am too. Best program to calculate focal point and G-spot-distance that I know of till now.
But it gives problems in calculating dishes as the TD110...

Greetz,
A33
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
That is right, multifocus dishes are not easy calculatable, but, taking into account that their proportion in the households is less than 1% than it is not a problem at all. Broader-than-high dishes are usually small and do not attract lot of interest from sat-hobbyists, so it is not an issue as well.
And problems in calculating TD110 is not belong to the program, it is purely because of the producer giving not correct data, such as Working Area of the Dish (WOD), offset angle, position of the feed.
 

brother9

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
offset Triax TD110.
My Location
Netherlands
I did not have time to do any (re-)calculations. The measurements I got were done by moving a straight wooden beam (or plank) across the face of the dish along the edge, stopping where the width, resp height was greatest. Then I drew lines along the beam on the dish by pencil. Where the lines cross is the deepest point.
The LNB is mounted in the arm and at the angle supplied by TRIAX. If that is wrong, then I would have to construct a new holder.....
The distance from LNB-top to dish was measured along a beam at that angle, i.e. parallel with the LNB.
As I live only ONE km from the wild North Sea, the top of the dish is blocked from moving by a beam to the chimney, and the arm is blocked from moving by a stone under it.
Most signals from Hispasat are now 99%. Should I be able to get other satellites near 30°W on this setup? Tnx.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
OK, and what is the depth of the dish in the middle of it? And what are vertical and horizontal dimensions of the WOD?
On the existing dish you can add another LNB to catch 24.5*W and nothing more.
Different receivers can show 99% at completely different signal levels.
If TRIAX give wrong data about their antennas I doubt they can suply proper LNB holder which could assure that LNB's Phase center is co-located with antenna's Focal point. Different LNBs have Phase center located in different places, so it is wrong approach to measure LNB's location to it's top.
Middle of the offset dish is not the deepest point of it.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
As for UHTV, I would expect NOT to be able to get an image, but at least I get a signal. If it is so new and difficult to get (as mentioned in the link you gave), then would I have to believe that ALL of Castilla La Mancha CANNOT get this FTA station?? Then why broadcast?


Its not designed for home reception - its feeding the terrestrial transmitter network - hence the none standard transmission standard.
 

brother9

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
offset Triax TD110.
My Location
Netherlands
Well, that should be good, as 24.5° W has Televisa: ¿alguien ya está viendo las telenovelas de México?
Could I use the duoblock LNB 13°/19° (Astra-1 and Hotbird) for that? It has its own cable down into the house.
TRIAX dish: 98 wide and 112 high, 9 cm deep, but I would have to re-measure with what I now know.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
TRIAX dish: 98 wide and 112 high, 9 cm deep, but I would have to re-measure with what I now know.
Yes, you better re-measure, cuz WOD of 980mm x 1120mm give an offset angle 29* which is far away from what TRIAX stated. Vertical and horizontal size of the WOD should be measures with the precision up to 1mm and depth in the very middle of the dish with the precision up to 0.1mm. Have a nice day! :)
 

Tururu

Assembled with recycled parts
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
2,818
Reaction score
1,147
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
90cm motorised dishes(98x90)+fixed+multiLNB+24Unicable.
Currently 56 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.

Octagon SF8008 4K Twin, VU+Duo², VU+Ultimo4K.
Recycled as the owner.
My Location
North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
Well, that should be good, as 24.5° W has Televisa: ¿alguien ya está viendo las telenovelas de México?....
.
These channels are encrypted in Viaccess.
With the same antenna of 90cm, SNR / signal 86%, AGC / Quality 79% 12.90dB.
As it is noticed that it is a satellite of links and not of commercial channels, the TPs have less power.
--------
Esos canales estan encriptados en Viaccess.
Con la misma antena de 90cm, SNR/señal 86%, AGC/Calidad 79% 12.90dB.
Como se nota que es un satelite de enlaces y no de canales comerciales, los TP's tienen menos potencia.


11626H13500_Viaccess.jpg
 

brother9

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
offset Triax TD110.
My Location
Netherlands
.
These channels are encrypted in Viaccess.
With the same antenna of 90cm, SNR / signal 86%, AGC / Quality 79% 12.90dB.
As it is noticed that it is a satellite of links and not of commercial channels, the TPs have less power.
--------
Esos canales estan encriptados en Viaccess.
Con la misma antena de 90cm, SNR/señal 86%, AGC/Calidad 79% 12.90dB.
Como se nota que es un satelite de enlaces y no de canales comerciales, los TP's tienen menos potencia.

Ah, thank you. At Lyngsat they are still without encryption, so that is why I hoped I could see them. It means that ALL of Televisa is lost to the rest of Europe....
 

brother9

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
offset Triax TD110.
My Location
Netherlands
It seems that some TPs have less power than others. Is there a way of knowing? This parameter is not showing on Lyngsat, etc.
Tnx.
 

Tururu

Assembled with recycled parts
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
2,818
Reaction score
1,147
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
90cm motorised dishes(98x90)+fixed+multiLNB+24Unicable.
Currently 56 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.

Octagon SF8008 4K Twin, VU+Duo², VU+Ultimo4K.
Recycled as the owner.
My Location
North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
It seems that some TPs have less power than others. Is there a way of knowing? This parameter is not showing on Lyngsat, etc.
Tnx.
In Lyngsat shows the value C/N lock

In general.
High power, small antenna (40-60cm), commercial channels (SR 27500-30000) of Movistar +, Meo, Nos.
Low power, very large antenna (80-130cm), technical link/feed (SR 185-20000).
---------
En Lyngsat muestra el valor C/N lock

En general.
Alta potencia, antena pequeña (40-60cm), canales comerciales (SR 27500-30000) de Movistar+, Meo, Nos.
Poca potencia, antena muy grande (80-130cm), enlace tecnicos/feed (SR 185-20000).
 
Last edited:

brother9

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
offset Triax TD110.
My Location
Netherlands
In Lyngsat shows the value C/N lock

In general: High power, small antenna (40-60cm), commercial channels (SR 27500-30000) of Movistar +, Meo, Nos.
Low power, very large antenna (80-130cm), technical link/feed (SR 185-20000).
---------
En Lyngsat muestra el valor C/N lock

En general: Alta potencia, antena pequeña (40-60cm), canales comerciales (SR 27500-30000) de Movistar+, Meo, Nos.
Poca potencia, antena muy grande (80-130cm), enlace tecnicos/feed (SR 185-20000).

TODAY -at last- it was not raining, so I went onto the roof and did some adjusting. Well nai IMpossible! After going up the ladder some 25 times, I now got a signal quality of 85-87% on BOM (11503H1667). Guess what on 11491V7522 (Castilla La Mancha): 90% signal! and 87, 85, 87, 80,.... but only for 1/5th second each time, with intervals of 4 to 12 minutes. After 11 p.m. 30%, 21, 26, 25, 23, 90!, 26 etc.... but more frequently: every 2 to 3 minutes.
I know I am NOT supposed to get this station, but what is going on technically? I get a strong signal (90%!), but only very briefly. Why?
Do they change to low power at night? Is the satellite rotating? The signal almost is like a lighthouse (Sp. un faro): the beam lights up the antenna and has passed.

A different question: has anyone ever picked up signals intended for (or from) North or South America?
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
After going up the ladder some 25 times
Why are you running up&down the roof so many times? You do some adjustment and then go down to see signal level on the screen of your TV? If so, than I doubt it is possible properly adjust antenna this way.So, seems that your antenna is not properly adjusted, and that could also be the reason that signal is jumping on some of the transponders.
 

Tururu

Assembled with recycled parts
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
2,818
Reaction score
1,147
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
90cm motorised dishes(98x90)+fixed+multiLNB+24Unicable.
Currently 56 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.

Octagon SF8008 4K Twin, VU+Duo², VU+Ultimo4K.
Recycled as the owner.
My Location
North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
@brother9
Buy a receiver that supports these emissions (SX88) are very cheap, 75 € more transports, the receiver you have can not stand it.
If you want to understand it well, if you do not want to understand it, just as well.
--------------
Compra un receptor que soporte estas emisiones (SX88) son muy baratos, 75€ mas transportes, el receptor que tienes no lo soporta.
Si lo quieres entender bien, si no lo quieres entender, igual de bien.

Aqui tienes algo para leer, tienes "fotos" de ese tp-canales/Here you have something to read, you have "photos" of that tp-channels.
OCTAGON SX88 H.265 HEVC HD

Do they change to low power at night? Is the satellite rotating? The signal almost is like a lighthouse (Sp. un faro): the beam lights up the antenna and has passed.......
Jokes are better every day/Los chistes son mejor cada dia.:-rofl2
........A different question: has anyone ever picked up signals intended for (or from) North or South America?
.
More than 17 years ago, during 6 months, by mistake, a TP emitting for America also emitted for Europe.
I remember "Canal Educativo" and "Canal Educativo2", it seems that was the other day.
Today with the blind search, those mistakes are seen in a flash.
If you want to have fun looking for "those channels", perfect, lucky.
-----------
Hace mas de 17 años, durante 6 meses, por error, un TP emitiendo para America tambien emitia para Europa.
Recuerdo "Canal Educativo" y "Canal Educativo2", parece que fue el otro dia.
Hoy con la busqueda ciega, esos errores se ven en un pispas.
Si te quieres divertir buscando "esos canales", perfecto, suerte.


Why are you running up&down the roof so many times? You do some adjustment and then go down to see signal level on the screen of your TV? If so, than I doubt it is possible properly adjust antenna this way.So, seems that your antenna is not properly adjusted, and that could also be the reason that signal is jumping on some of the transponders.
.
Look at the enlarged photo of the antenna that has the companion and observe the "miracle" of the LNB and the support of the antenna, now you will understand so many "trips".
So you can not have the antenna, but it says it "works" very well.

Try tuning to 11491V7522 with a receiver that does not support streaming channel broadcast, you know, but you do not mind wasting your time waiting for it to work someday.
It has peaks / beats of signal (depends on the receiver) during decimals of second.
--------------
Mira la foto ampliada de la antena que tiene el compañero y observa el "milagro" del LNB y el soporte de la antena, ahora entenderas tantos "viajes".
Asi no puede tener la antena, pero dice que "funciona" muy bien.

Intenta sintonizar 11491V7522 con un receptor que no soporta la emision streaming del canal, lo sabe, pero no le importa perder el tiempo esperando que funcione algun dia.
Tiene picos/golpes de señal (depende del receptor) durante decimas de segundo.

Every day is better adjusted, not forgetting the wooden board and the stone to give stability to the back support.
Cada dia esta mejor ajustada, sin olvidar la tabla de madera y la piedra para dar estabilidad al soporte trasero.


broma_2-jpg.110279
 
Last edited:

brother9

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
offset Triax TD110.
My Location
Netherlands
Right. I am still here....
As you can see on this last photo of TRIAX dish, behind it is an oval dish (90x65) aimed at 13° E. LNBs on 28°E, 23°E, 19°E and 13°E give excellent (Quality) signals: up to 99%. AND I have one LNB for Eutelsat 10 and 9. I was watching programs on 6 TER Suisse AND e.g. Kurdistan. BUT:
The 9+10 signals disappeared. Could have been moved during winter storms. I have 2 cables going into the house, 2 Diseqc switches, (and a cable switch in TV room,) changed the LNB, changed the cables to Diseqc box, re-aimed LNB, etc. HOWEVER:
I never get the signals from Eutelsat 10+9 as previously. Station 12BBC2Delay is coded but has 44% signal. ZAGROS has 66% - sometimes. I have been up the ladder 100+ times.... YES, good signal (80%) on Zagros, nothing on 6 TER. Next morning: NO signal at all..... Towards evening: Zagros 45% then 0%, etc.
Can anyone tell me what is up? Have satellites moved? Have their power(s) been reduced? Have their footprints been changed/moved? All my LNBs are black. WHY?? Do they not get VERY hot with (lately....) full June sunshine for 19 hours!?
Remember, I HAD both satellites on ONE LNB in the past.....
Thank you.
 
Top